SHIVA YOGA

From ancient times to Vedic age and till the modern age, Indian culture believes Shiva and Shakti are two counter-qualities originating from the same source. They represent the dualistic principle contained in the matter of the World. As far as everything in the World, beginning with «primitive» organic forms to the most «exquisite» organized forms, is inter-connected, so “Ha” and “Tha” qualities cover every-thing existing in this World.

“Ha” quality corresponds to light, sun, activity, absence of inertia, maleness etc., whereas “Tha” quality corresponds to dark, moon, passivity, inertia, femaleness, etc. It is absolutely obvious that a detailed analysis of all the material and energy manifestations in the world extends to infinity.

From the very beginning, it is necessary to understand that Shiva and Shakti are two different qualitative energy.

Human body, physical organs and senses are controlled instruments and with respect to the Power of Will, they possess “Tha” qualities. It may be conscious or unconscious, and respectively pertain to consciousness.

Any practice designed to overcome personal weaknesses require effort, expression of will and the Ha quality of the Power of the Spirit, whereas any practice related to the relaxation of the body, senses, and the mind imply “Tha” quality of the Power of the Spirit.

Therefore, it is necessary to realize what is happening with the controlled instruments during training and what the state of the Spirit is. With this understanding one should strive to reconcile the state of the Spirit with the qualities required to perform particular exercises.

Asanas, Pranayamas, Pratyahara or Dharana — regardless of whether while practicing them one strains or stretches the muscles, whether the breath is deep or relaxed, or whether the rays of attention are distracted from the object or are fixed on it and withdrawal of the senses — all require will-based control, concentration and “Ha” of Spirit.

Shiva-style training means ultimate capacity in all practices and concentration of the mind. This is an enhancing practice for new qualities in all subordinate bodies under the control of the will. Compression and concentration of the “Fire” in the ultimate limiting point reaches a critical higher level, which is followed by an essence-transforming explosion. In this style the active male energies of self-assurance and worship of the Personal Power dominate.

In the first three sutras of Sage Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras it is said:

Atha yogah anushasanam.
Yogah chitta vritti nirodha.
Tadha drashta swaroope awasthanam.

These three sutras convey the concept of the external mind and the internal mind. The first sutra says, ‘the disciplines of yoga’. This leads to the second sutra, ’Quieting the dissipated mental behavior, which is the external face of the mind. Once this quieting of the external behavior, the dissipation and agitations have been brought to a minimum, then the peaceful state of mind makes one look inward. That is the third sutra, ’Then the observer realizes his true nature’.

According to these sutras, true nature is looking inwards and false nature is looking outwards. The false nature connects one with maya (illusion) and the true nature connects one with atma (consciousness).

When you are in maya (illusion), you are involved, you are the enjoyer and the doer, the bhokta(receiver) and the karta(doer). Karta is the performer or the doer and bhokta is the enjoyer. Coming out of the identification of karta and bhokta, which relates you with maya, makes you observe your essential, spiritual nature and that is drashta an observer.

You may be aware but you are not the observer. You may be awake, active and interactive, in the world but you are not observing. Yoga uses a specific word ‘drashta’ to indicate a condition of mind which is observing itself.

The mind is dissipated, distracted, running in all directions. When you sit down for meditation you begin to think, ‘I need to control my mind, I need to become still, I need to become focused’, and you make the effort. What is happening there? It is the mind which is distracted, dissipated, disturbed and it is the same mind which thinks, ‘I want to become stable, quiet and peaceful’.

These are the two faces of the mind. For the sake of easy understanding let us consider that the mind has two faces, the external and the internal face. Just imagine two faces back to back; one is looking this way and the other is looking that way. When you are awake, you are identifying with the face of the mind which is in the front looking ahead, but when you are sleeping, your awareness or the identification of the mind is with the mind which is looking inward, so you are not aware of the outside.

It is inaccurate to say that there are two faces of the mind, but for the sake of talk, discussion and understanding. In normal life we are in the front face but in meditation we block out the front through pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses from its objects), and we direct our gaze inwards into the other side. We start looking inwards and the moment we begin to look inwards, there is this awareness that ‘I’m looking in’. That is the state of drashta or observer.

Shiva Yoga, on the other hand, deals with the personality aspects, with recognition and acceptance of the self, but is more than that. Shiva Yoga evolves all of a person’s potential, the physical, vital, mental, emotional, psychic and spiritual qualities. In this style of yoga practice one gets in touch with all levels of the mind. One becomes familiar with the sense of awareness, witnesses one’s awareness and evolves the drashta attitude of the mind. Being the witness of one’s awareness, the drashta, and the attitude of non-identification leads to a higher mental and spiritual process.

In the process of life, you are all the time identified with your mind, your thoughts, your emotions, your ego. You are trying to understand ‘the movie of your life’ by being involved in it. You remain stuck to your ego; even though your ego is psychoanalyzed and purified, in a way, you are still that ego. This identification does not lead you to inner freedom, cannot give you the delight of simple joy.

As soon as you realize this ‘game’ of the mind, which is a false attitude of protection, you understand one aspect of your emotional personality. However, even after this understanding and acceptance, you still identify with this aspect of your being. It is yourself. Anger is still you. On this path, you are the body, you are the anger, and you are your ‘angry’ mind and heart. To be aware of it is really important, but it is not liberating!

Shiva Yoga moves further. You are not the body, you are not the mind; you try not to identify with the doer, the performer. You have to learn to be a spectator of the movie of your life, thoughts and behavior. From the yogic aspect, through practices such as antar mouna (Inner Silence) you can understand the type and source of your anger, but you are learning to recognize yourself as an observer, a witness, detached from anger.

In Shiva yoga, the drashta attitude is the first step towards connecting with joy, freedom and light for it propels you out of your ego! Developing the drashta. you focus on yourself with an attitude of non-attachment, you stop being the center of your thoughts and observe yourself by keeping a distance. You are like a good loving friend to your mind, a friend who is always there but does not intervene.

To be an observer and at the same time able to control the mind in the way you want can be a path to the freedom of all the bondages. The drashta attitude is part of the mechanics of Shiva Yoga to transform in different dimensions.

The real longevity is given by the quality of mental experiences. For us as ordinary human beings the experience of life takes a form of a slice of time. Every now and then we have a slice of conscious experience, a very brief time of which usually we don’t retain anything. It is not so for a Drashta. The slices of time are united, a continuous flow of awareness is present and retained in the memory. This state doesn’t last for 24 hours continuously. It varies, perhaps our genetic structure doesn’t allow us to have this experience as a dominant feature of mind, but no doubt there are people having this ability. Some people having this extraordinary ability can hold longer perhaps for hours, even during sleep in certain conditions the Yoga awareness can be held. In conclusion, it can be said that longevity in Yoga is a matter of quality of experience. If we compare the intensity of life experiences between an ordinary person and a Drashta for a certain numbers of years, it can be said that a Drashta has lived the equivalent of hundreds of years because of the ability to have a higher level of awareness. This perspective is outstanding, the many spiritual paths somehow or another talk about awareness as a soteriological and eschatological issue. In other words salvation is a matter of awareness.

There are three level of yoga practices in Shiva yoga.

Level-1(Duration 90 mins)   Level-2 (Duration- 2Hours)   Level-3 (Duration-3 hours)

In Shiva yoga the practice of basic ethical guidelines and moral conducts to pacify the modifications of Chitta of the practitioners, Selected Niyama (discipline of mind and body) practices will help to train and guide the practitioner’s mind and body to prepare the practitioner for other practices. The unique blend of Asana, Pranayama, Bandha, Mudras etc. practices in this session will purify and strengthen the body and mind. These practices surely awakens the energies and redirect them in to the body. The practice of pranayama brings the peace and joy along with develop the concentration. All these practices allow your feelings and your reactions out, while at the same time witnessing and observing them. In a second stage you witness them before they come out. Finally, you can transform the pattern of your mind which is working on many levels in the third level of Shiva Yoga classes. While practicing all classes of Shiva yoga, the Practitioners become a drashta (Observer or witness of himself) during the whole session. The in-depth   practice of Dharana (concentration) leads to the meditative state in Advance classes of Shiva yoga.

濕婆瑜伽

從古時吠陀時代直到現代,印度文化認為濕婆和莎克蒂是源於同一來源的兩種反質量。它們代表了世界問題中所包含的二元原則。就世界上所有的事物而言,從“原始”有機形式到最“精妙”的有組織形式,都是相互聯繫的,所以“哈”和“塔”特質涵蓋了這個世界上存在的每一件事物。

“哈”質量對應於光,太陽,活動,無慣性,男性等,而“塔”質量對應於黑暗,月亮,被動性,慣性,女性等等。絕對明顯的是,對所有世界的物質和能量表現延伸到無限。

從一開始,就有必要了解濕婆和沙克提是兩種不同的定性能量。

人體,器官和感官都是受控制的工具,對於意志力來說,它們具有“塔”的特質。它可能是有意識的或無意識的,分別與意識有關。

任何旨在克服個人弱點的做法都需要努力,表達意志和精神力量的Ha質量,任何與身體放鬆,感官和心靈相關的實踐都意味著力量的“塔”質量精神。

因此,有必要了解在訓練期間受控儀器發生的情況以及聖靈的狀態。有了這種理解,人們應該努力調和聖靈的狀態和執行特定練習所需的品質。

身體,呼吸法,Pratyahara或Dharana – 不管是在練習它們中的一種還是拉伸肌肉時,無論是注意力分散在物體上還是固定在物體上並撤回感官 – 都需要基於意志的控制,集中註意力和Spirit的“Ha”。

濕婆式訓練意味著所有練習和精神集中的終極能力。這是對意志控制下的所有下屬機構新素質的強化實踐。在最終限制點的“火”壓縮和集中達到了一個關鍵的更高水平,其次是一個本質轉變的爆炸。在這種風格中,個人力量的自信和崇拜活躍的男性能量占主導地位。

在聖人帕坦伽利的瑜伽經的前三部經文中說:

Atha yogah anushasanam。
Yogah chitta vritti nirodha。
Tadha drashta swaroope awasthanam。

這三部經傳達了外在思想和內在思想的概念。第一次經文說,’瑜伽的學科’。這導致了第二個經文,“消除心智的外在表面的消散的心理行為。一旦這種外部行為的平靜,躁動和躁動已經降到最低,那麼和平的心態就會讓人向內看。這是第三經,’觀察者意識到他的真實性’。

根據這些經文,真實的自然向內看,虛假的自然向外看。虛假的本性把MAYA(幻覺)和真實的自然聯繫起來,使之與atma(意識)聯繫在一起。

你在MAYA(幻覺),你是參與的,你是享樂者和行為者,bhokta(接收者)和karta(實施者)。 Karta是表演者,或者是行動者和bhokta是享受者。從kary和bhokta的身份出發,將你與瑪雅聯繫起來,使你觀察到你的本質,屬靈的本質,這是一個觀察者。

你可能知道,但你不是觀察者。你可能知道,但你不是觀察者。你可能知道,但你不是觀察者。

頭腦消散,分心,奔向各個方向。當你坐下來進行冥想時,你會開始思考’我需要控制自己的想法,我需要變得靜止,我需要變得靜止,我需要變得專注’,並且你需要付出努力。它是分心,消散,不安的心靈,它是一個認為’我想變得穩定,安靜和平靜’的思想。

為了容易,讓我們認為頭腦有兩個面孔,即外在和內在的面孔。試想一下兩張臉背靠背;一個是這樣看的,另一個是這樣看的。當你醒來的時候,你就會發現前方的頭腦是正面的,但是當你在睡覺的時候,你的意識或者心靈的認同是在向內看的心靈,所以你不知道的外面。

說出心靈的兩面,但是為了談話,討論和理解,這是不准確的。在正常的生活中,我們處於正面,但在冥想中,我們通過pratyahara阻擋了前方(將感官從物體上撤回),並且我們將目光投向另一側。我們開始向內看,當我們開始向內看時,有這種意識,“我在看”。這是drashta或觀察員的狀態。
另一方面,濕婆瑜伽涉及個性方面,承認和接受自我,但不止於此。濕婆瑜伽演變一個人的潛能,身體,生命,精神,情感,心理和精神品質。在這種瑜伽練習中,人們可以與各個層面的心靈接觸。人們熟悉意識,見證人的意識,並發展思想的drashta態度。作為一個人意識的見證,德拉克塔斯和不認同的態度導致更高的精神和精神過程。

在生活的過程中,你始終與自己的思想,思想,情緒,自我相識。你試圖通過參與其中來理解’你的生活的電影’。你仍然堅持你的自我;即使你的自我被精神分析和淨化,在某種程度上,你仍然是那個自我。這種認同不會引導你內心的自由,不能帶給你簡單快樂的喜悅。
只要你意識到這種“遊戲”,這是一種錯誤的保護態度,你就會理解你的情感個性的一個方面。但是,即使在理解和接受之後,你仍然認同你的存在。這是你自己。憤怒仍然是你。在這條道路上,你是身體,你是憤怒,你是’憤怒’的頭腦和心靈。要意識到這是非常重要的,但它不是解放!

濕婆瑜伽進一步移動。你不是身體,你不是頭腦;你盡量不要與執行者,執行者認同。你必須學會成為你生活,思想和行為電影的旁觀者。從瑜伽的角度來看,通過諸如antar mouna(內心沉默)等實踐,你可以了解憤怒的類型和來源,但你正在學習認識自己是一個觀察者,一個見證人,脫離憤怒。

在濕婆瑜伽中,drashta態度是連接歡樂,自由和光明的第一步,它促使你脫離自我!開發drashta。你以一種無依戀的態度專注於自己,你不再是你思想的中心,並保持距離觀察自己。你是一個好朋友,永遠在你身邊,但不會介入。
成為觀察者,同時能夠以你想要的方式控制思想,可以成為所有束縛自由的途徑。 drashta態度是濕婆瑜伽在不同維度上變換的機制的一部分。
真正的長壽是由心理體驗的質量給出的。對於我們作為普通人來說,生活的體驗需要一段時間。我們偶爾會有一小段意識體驗,這是非常短暫的時間,通常我們不會保留任何東西。對Drashta來說並非如此。時間片段的統一,意識的持續流動呈現並保留在記憶中。這種狀態不會持續24小時。它有所不同,也許我們的遺傳結構不允許我們將這種體驗作為頭腦的主要特徵,但毫無疑問,有人有這種能力。有些擁有這種非凡能力的人可能會持續更長時間,甚至在某些情況下,在睡覺時可以保持瑜伽意識。總之,可以說瑜伽的長壽是一個經驗質量問題。如果我們比較普通人和Drashta在一定年限內的生活經驗強度,可以說Drashta已經活了數百年,因為他們具有更高的意識水平。這種觀點非常突出,許多精神之路在某種程度上或者另一種意識上被視為一種聖餐和末世論問題。換句話說,救恩是一個意識問題。

濕婆瑜伽中有三種瑜伽練習。
1級(持續時間90分鐘)2級(持續時間2小時)3級(持續時間3小時)
在濕婆瑜伽中,基本的道德準則和道德行為的實踐可以平息修煉者對Chitta的修改,Selected Niyama(精神和身體的訓練)將有助於培訓和指導修煉者的思想和身體,為實踐者準備其他實踐。 Asana,Pranayama,Bandha,Mudras等獨特的混合練習將會淨化和加強身體和心靈。這些做法肯定會喚醒能量並將它們重新引導到身體。調息法的實踐帶來了和平與喜悅,同時發展了濃度。所有這些做法都會讓你的感受和反應消失,同時目睹並觀察它們。在第二階段你會在他們出來之前目睹他們。最後,你可以改變你在第三級濕婆瑜伽課程中許多層面上工作的思維模式。在練習所有類型的濕婆瑜伽時,練習者在整個練習過程中都會成為一名drashta(觀察者或證人)。 Dharana(濃度)的深入練習導致了Shiva瑜伽的高級課程中的冥想狀態。