About Yoga

Hindu Way of knowing yoga
According to the Indian yoga philosophy, our body is a microcosm, an arena, a space containing all kinds of energies. So every created thing lies in our body in a subtle form. In other words, the tiny universe of our body contains the Sun, the Moon, the lower world, the higher world, life energy, the lower mental energy, the higher mental energy, the supramental energy, and our Divine Self which is container of all kinds of energy. 

Lord Shiva is considered the Adi Yogi (The first Yogi) and the Adi Guru (The first Teacher). He turned himself from Aadi Yogi to Aadi Guru when he transmitted the yogic science to Sapta-Rishis (Seven Great Saints) on the day of full-moon. This day has been celebrated as a Guru Purnima in India.  He is the foremost among the yogis and the first teacher of the science of Yoga. No one knows his origin. He is depicted as sitting in lotus pose on mount Kailasha (in Himalaya) in deep samadhi, unmoved by the events of the universe.

In Hindu Scriptures his appearance in a form had been explained. His body is smeared with sacred ash. In his hair is the crescent moon symbolizing mystical vision and knowledge. The serpent coiled around his neck symbolizes the mysterious kundalini energy present in all of us. The river Ganges cascades from the crown of his head symbolizing perpetual purification, which he bestows upon his devotees. He is the three-eyed one (Trilochana) as he has the third eye or the eye of wisdom in the center of the forehead. He is described as the “blue-throated” (Neelakanta). He is said to have drank the poison that emerged during the mythological churning of the ocean by the gods and the Asuras (Demons), thereby protecting the world from its harmful effects. His trident represents the three gunas ( tendencies, qualities, attributes) of Nature, namely tamas, rajas, and sattva.

He is Yogeshwara, the lord of Yoga;

Maheshwara, the Greatest God and

Bhuteshwara, the lord of the five elements from which the universe is created.

It is said that Shiva first imparted his knowledge to Parvati or Shakti, his spouse. Also, for the good of mankind, he taught the science of Yoga to the ancient rishis who passed on this knowledge to the rest of humanity. All yogic and tantric systems consider him as the first Guru. On the banks of Kanti Sarovar, a lake that lies a few kilometers above Kedarnath (the region of Himalaya), Shiva shed his grace upon the human race, and the transmission of the yogic science to these seven sages began. After many years, when the transmission was complete, it produced seven fully enlightened beings – the seven celebrated sages who are today known as the Sapta-rishis, and are worshipped and admired in Indian culture. Shiva put different aspects of yoga into each of these seven sages, and these aspects became the seven basic forms of yoga. Even today, yoga has maintained these seven distinct forms. The Sapta-rishis (Seven sages )were sent in seven different directions to different parts of the world to carry this dimension with which a human being can evolve beyond his present limitations and compulsions. They became the limbs of Shiva, taking the knowing and technology of how a human being can uplift to the highest possible state of consciousness.

Siva Sutras and Vighyana Bhairava Tantra are popular texts that contain specific techniques to liberate the embodied soul from the limitations of the body and mind and experience his true blissful nature. These techniques got refined over the centuries through various masters, who perfected this art and then taught it their disciples. Thus a Guru-disciple tradition was developed and the wisdom of yoga was passed on through the ages.

Shiva is considered the supreme consciousness in which the play of creation happens in the form of Shakti. Shiva and Shakti are inseparable, just as the creation cannot be separated from the creator.

 Yoga, You and Asana
Life begins and ends with a posture. The way a baby lays in the mothers womb in the embryonic phase of life is itself a posture (Garbhasana, the womb posture), while at the end of the life the body lays in shavasana (Corpse posture). In our everyday life, in order to accomplish various tasks, we take actions and perform many postures, but these are different from the postures that a yogi practices with awareness. A steady and gentle posture generates mental equilibrium and prevents mental fickleness. In my own teaching experience carried out in numerous countries including India, I encountered many people who are strong but not flexible enough and many who are flexible but not strong. When they started practicing different postures, they began to feel their weakness and strength in their body. The practice of yogic postures brings balance not only to the body, but also to the mind and the inner self.
And here come some questions. Why should a person practice yoga? What are its advantages or the possible counter effects? When should one practice and where? Over centuries, Asanas (Postures) have evolved and are now able to exercise every single muscle, nerve, gland and every organ of the body. The practice of yogic postures secures a nice physique, which is strong and flexible without being muscle-bound, and it also protects the body from diseases. But the ultimate goal of practicing postures is to train and discipline the mind. To practice Asanas, all that a practitioner needs is a clean and airy place, a mat or a blanket, his own body and the determination to practice yoga.  
A yogi sees his own body as a temple in which dwells his soul, the divine spark. Thus he keeps his body clean, pure and healthy. Health is not a commodity or a gift which can be purchased or received. It is an asset to be gained by hard work. By practicing Asanas, a yogi frees himself from physical problems and mental distractions, to achieve a state of complete balance of body, mind and soul. Body, mind and soul are interrelated and connected with each other. An effect to one will surely influence the others and vice a versa. 
Patanjali wrote his work in Sanskrit. As a result, the names of the postures are in the original Sanskrit language, a language which was in use in ancient India but is now known only to a few. It is very interesting to analyze these terms and find out that each posture has its specific meaning. While some postures are nominated according to birds, animals, trees etc., others are named after some saints or Hindu gods according to their nature, personality and action. Thus, a practitioner should know the meaning of the postures. When he practices a posture, he must be aware of its qualities, characteristics, advantages and nature. 
YOGA is several thousand years old Traditional knowledge. Practicing yoga harmonizes the body and mind. It’s brings a perfect synchronization of physical, mental and spiritual being.
Practicing yoga is a way to living a healthy life. Our OXY-YOGA therapy classes can be great blessings to the people who are having chronic health issues.
Specific benefits of yoga
  • Physical benefits,anti- aging,radiant and vibrant skin
  • Fitness and weight loss
  • Improve metabolism
  • Improve flexibility and strength
  • Improve over-all health
  • Advantages to mental health-
  • Reduce stress
  • Reduce emotional disturbances
  • Induces positivity
  • Improve will power and self- confidence
  • Improve balance of life.
  • Spiritual transformation
  • Spiritual healing through Bhakti Yoga
  • Meditation brings peace
  • Progress to spiritual path